Don’t be surprised if you spot a celeb near this adults-only hotel on Barbados’ fancy west coast.
Rooms at this adults-only, low-rise hotel all overlook the gardens, pool or sea. It feels secluded, yet you’re a 10-minute walk to Holetown, with its craft shops and beachfront restaurants.
The hotel has its own compact beach and sunbathing deck, or you can pop next door to Simon Cowell’s favourite spot, Sandy Lane.
TripAdvisor Traveller Rating
Based On 1788 reviews
- Official Rating
All Inclusive - Here's what you get
Full Board meals
Selected alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks
Sports and Activities
All are included except where indicated.
Facilities ► View all
Offering massages, hydrotherapy, body treatments, facials, waxing, hair care, as well as manicures and pedicures. For a slightly different treatment try a thalassotherapy algae or seaweed bath. Or you can have a aromatherapy salt scrub or a body wrap. There's also a sauna.
3 outdoor pools
These interconnecting pools are surrounded by sunbeds, parasols and gardens with views of the beach.
Sunset international restaurant
An oceanfront à la carte restaurant overlooking the beach, offering local specialities, a range of desserts, cocktails and afternoon tea from 3pm until 4.30pm.
Rooms ► View all
Double Room with Sea View
These sea-view double rooms come complete with air-conditioning, a ceiling fan, satellite TV and tea and coffee facilities.
Beachfront Suite with Sea View and Balcony
These beachfront suites come complete with air-conditioning, a ceiling fan, satellite TV and tea and coffee facilities. A sea-view balcony offers some outside space.
TripAdvisor Reviews Show more reviews »
Did not let us down
This was a good hotel. We were checked in quite quickly ( in fact our cocktail arrived just as we were being shown to our room). The room was good and big with large bed and excellent shower which had 2 heads. We were on the ground floor with covered terrace and close enough to the pool without being on top of it. We thought the food in the sunset restaurant was excellent and varied with very good staff although they were occasionally short of numbers. Reviews say the food is repetitive but in 11 nights we found something different most nights and the fish was great. The breakfast was excellent in fact we had to cut down after a couple of days because the lunch was good with again the fresh grilled fish superb. We only tried the other restaurant once it was ok but we were told the menu was always the same so we never bothered again. Excellent cocktails are available at all the bars. Yes the sunbeds are taken early but to be fair you want to be out early before breakfast and we always found beds under the trees which we wanted anyway. The 3 pools are fairly small but ok. The free water sports are an excellent idea and we twice tried reef fishing but no bites. Entertainment is at best mediocre. Day time activities were not great, we twice went on the early morning scenic walks but there was no sign of the historical tour of Holetown which was advertised. The disappointing thing is no beach. We knew this before we went although we were advised that access to adjoining beaches was easy but this was not the case due apparently to damage caused by the edge of the recent hurricane. Looking at the damage we were happy to not be housed in the sea view rooms located close by. This meant if you wanted to walk you needed to go out the main gate. During a couple of heavy storms sand bags were needed to hold back a bit of flooding. Overall this was a good value hotel for the money we paid but we may have been lucky it was not busy as it may well be a bit cramped when full. Wifi was very hit and miss in the sunset lounge but was excellent if you went to the reception lobby not sure why you should have to pay for it in your room.More
They try hard - with only some success
Top to bottom the people who work here seem to care and try hard to make your stay as great as possible. I had no issue with any of the service except at check-out my request for a porter went unfullfilled and I just got them myself. Also no complaints about the food. Sunset Restaurant does breakfast, lunch and dinner. Dinner can sometimes be my menu. Enids Restaurant only does dinners and not all 7 nights. The food was very good and had local flavor (bajan) and also international (curry lamb I had twice). Three time during Enids and the menu at Sunset we became invisible.... and had to wait ~ 15 minutes for service between our main course and ordering desert. It was must more enjoyable being invisible in the AC of Enids versus the 70F dewpoint of Sunsets with no air movement. If you want a favorite spot at the pool or beach - wake up early. This is generally an older crowd and they don't sleep late in the morning. But you can generally get some spot any time you want (provided it it not near capacity). The three pool sections are small. You won't be doing laps. They are to cool off. Unless you indoors you will be cooling off. You can read the reviews on beach. Good snorkling. Bring underwater camera if you so inclined. Now the WTF. I want to have two strong drinks and reach my happy place. Then mix glasses of cold water and beer (or another drink) to kick back and relax. After 5 drinks I barely had a buzz. My friends and I watched and they are definitely good pours from the bottle. You can draw your own conclusions but we also noted we never saw a bottle being opened. I don't need the sugar (carbs) in those extra drinks and I'm note going to drink scotch just to get a buzz around lunch time. To get your beach towels you have to walk to the sports shack. The way from the beach is blocked off awaiting repair. Walk around thru the alley after a rain and the smell is of sewage and if barefeet the sludge will ooze thru your toes. Don't walk barefoot. We ended up saving three towels and drying them overnight for most of the week. The way to Sandy Lane beach is also under construction - along with spots along the seawall. Come-on and make some effort here!! The entertainment, except for the piano bar late night, was disappointing. I'm surprised there aren't more complaints about noise - given the crowd is generally older and goes to bed early. The outdoor entertainment does end @ 11 PM. Internet in the room was $10 a day. It was a bit week and they need improvements. Not just in internet but in infrastructure. We met some great people from the US and UK.More
OK, but nothing special unfortunately
Rooms are ok, resort is ok, food is ok, but 4 star this is not. However value for money I'd say it was very good, and my wife agrees (which is pretty unusual in itself!!). If you are looking for a cheap holiday with a controlled budget to Barbados, then All Inclusive is the only option really as eating out is expensive. Staff generally friendly. Drinks decidedly on the cheap side, cocktails knocked together from pre-mixes not constructed as they are in many bars. If you know what you are getting yourself into then it's not a bad deal, but it's not what we are used to. We'd go back and use it as a B&B and budget for eating out, because the location was good. More
Out of this World
Before I arrived at the hotel, I arranged for some flowers to be delivered, rose petals displayed on the bed, plus a bottle of Prosecco. Well....the hotel didn't disappoint. A big thanks to Troy for arranging this for me, as my girlfriend was over the moon. I found the staff very friendly, welcoming and funny. Reading some of the negative comments are laughable, when you go to another country/Island, learn about their culture, don't moan on here, if there's a problem, get it sorted there, not on here. People complain, expecting a free holiday. It was my girlfriend first visit to the island, and she thoroughly enjoyed herself, she was even learning about their culture, even though I'm half bajan.More
Needs and overhaul--all over
I read tons of reviews before we went the beginning of Oct., so I knew that it wasn't going to be perfect, but was optimistic. We were redirected here when Irma hit our original destination. Check in was quick and easy; everyone was pleasant. We had an ground floor oceanfront suite, which was clean and comfortable. Our friends were on a higher floor, and they said the stairs were cockeyed and for tiny feet. Also note that their extra room was outdoors; ours was inside. The A/C worked fine our entire stay. The bathroom was clean but dated, sort of like the whole resort. The staff is definitely hot or cold. I laughed at our waitress when she gave us an eyeroll for ordering iced coffee; then she laughed too. I never had any problem getting drinks in restaurants. Water, wine, rum, all flowing freely. Many servers were excellent and friendly. We also never had any trouble getting a seat or making a reservation for the time we wanted. We ate out twice at night (and no one got mad at us for not eating there, as in other reviews). The ladies with the book were very sweet when I cancelled our reservations. The female beach bartender is definitely hostile. This has been reviewed so many times. The management clearly doesn't care or they would have fired her or made her change her attitude. The other bartenders were very friendly. The food is of decent quality, that's it. Breakfast is the best, with eggs, pancakes, waffles cooked to order by a very nice lady. There are also buffet items/bread/fruit etc. The omelette station is run by a fierce, rude woman who I saw yell at two customers in one morning, roll her eyes at most of them, and generally made people feel like a real pain for simply ordering breakfast. She does, however, make a good omelette. As for lunch and dinner buffets, there is plenty of food, but the lunch buffet was sometimes not what you wanted or not well prepared. For example, there was a tasty lamb with brown sauce one day, but the meat was cooked into jerky. Or one day there was noodle pie and a Indian vegetable dish. They just didn't go together. The "sumptuous" burgers are like mushy pre-made frozen Bubba Burgers in the US, and the burger lady yelled at me for asking if I should touch the buns or let her. LET HER. Haha she might have been the omelette lady doing lunch. Al a carte dinner was ok at Sunset restaurant, but even the extra $50 for steak or lamb just wasn't that good. Enid's has the same menu every night. And the menu was limited. However, the A/C was very welcome. If you go on an excursion and arrive back at the resort hungry because you missed lunch, you can order a light lunch/snack near the restaurant. We did one day, and our server was clearly bothered by our needing this service. But I will say the Caesar chicken salad wrap was pretty good! After 5 days, my husband refused to have any more meals on site, not because it was horrible, he was just sick of it. We went out and had some great meals elsewhere. One afternoon in the water looking back at the resort with its broken walls on either side fenced up of the property, (which have been that way a long time according to other reviewers) the sinkhole taped off in the middle of the sandy area, and the shingles missing on small parts of the roof, my husband said "I bet some family ran this place well, then couldn't keep up with all the work it needed, and sold or leased it to a management company who is doing just enough to keep it going without major expense." Now that we are home, there is a recent review stating that they used to visit this place when a family ran it, and how much better it was then. If you read the management's responses to anything negative, you will see that they have little interest in improvements. They just say they are sorry you didn't enjoy their great this or that, and that they get so many compliments... like you just don't know what good food is, are wrong about rude employees, peeling paint, etc. They say they will address concerns with employees or other problems, but obviously that is not the case because nothing changes. I would like to actually know how long the broken walls have been sitting there with fences blocking the way to water sports? A week, a month, years?More
Things To Do View all »
People who looked at this hotel also viewed...
Items marked with * incur extra charges which are payable locally